Jorgensen & Mola win at Mooloolaba World Cup

Gwen Jorgensen (USA) & Mario   Mola (ESP) open 2014 ITU triathlon season with win at Mooloolaba World   Cup 


Madrid, Spain (15   February 2014) – In the 2014 ITU Triathlon season kick off, Gwen   Jorgensen and Mario Mola ran their way to the top of the podium at the   Mooloolaba World Cup under bright blue skies and blazing temperatures.  


Elite Women’s Review

In a USA double, Gwen   Jorgensen and Katie Hursey came out on top of a 34-strong field to finish   first and second respectively in the opening women’s ITU World Cup sprint   race of the season on Queensland’s Sunshine Coast this Saturday. It was a particularly gritty performance from Jorgensen in a race that saw four of the world’s top ten women compete after the late withdrawal of world ranked number three and 2013 Mooloolaba winner Anne Haug (GER) due to an infection.Under sunny skies Jorgensen   once again showed the foot speed that floored the competition in three World   Triathlon Series races last year, taking the lead on the second lap of the   run to win in 59:55. Hursey finished fifteen seconds in arrears while Japan   pocket rocket Ai Ueda took third a further four seconds behind.

2014 Mooloolaba ITU   Triathlon World Cup – 15 March

Final   Results – Elite Women   


1 Gwen Jorgensen USA 00:59:55
2 Katie Hursey USA 01:00:10
3 Ai Ueda JPN 01:00:14
4 Ellen Pennock CAN 01:00:25
5 Andrea Hewitt NZL 01:00:32
6 Emma Moffatt AUS 01:00:44
7 Kirsten Sweetland CAN 01:00:52
8 Rebecca Robisch GER 01:00:55
9 Anja Knapp GER 01:01:07
10 Ashleigh Gentle AUS 01:01:10



Elite Men’s Review
If Javier Gomez is the king of triathlon in Spain, Mario Mola is   the prince. A precisely-timed killer kick during third run lap of the opening   men’s ITU World Cup saw the Spaniard take gold, dispatching a quality field   of 68 men from 20 countries who lined up in the 12th edition of the   Mooloolaba event.

He crossed the line in 27 degree C temperatures in an equally   sizzling winning time of 54:18 to take gold in an event that boasted five of   the top ten men in the world. World number four and Mooloolaba debutante Richard Murray (RSA) crossed the line 18 seconds behind Mola (54:37) to take silver while Athens Olympic Games bronze   medallist Sven Riederer (SUI)   snared the bronze in 55:04

Mola was lurking after a congested bike transition and soon a   three way race-within-a-race had developed between the Spaniard, Murray and   Great Britain’s Tom Bishop. The pace seemed to quicken at this point as Mola   gained ascendency, while Murray and a fast-finishing Reiderer were keen to go   with him.

But a trademark Mola kick at the 4km mark was the defining   moment of the race of the race and there was no way from that point that he’d   be headed. His run time of 13:55 was 19 seconds faster than Murray’s and 50   seconds quicker than Reiderer’s.


2014 Mooloolaba ITU Triathlon   World Cup – 15 March

Final Results – Elite Men  


1 Mario Mola ESP 00:54:18
2 Richard Murray RSA 00:54:37
3 Sven Riederer SUI 00:55:04
4 David Hauss FRA 00:55:07
5 Kaleb Vanort USA 00:55:08
6 Thomas Bishop GBR 00:55:15
7 Fernando Alarza ESP 00:55:21
8 Ryan Fisher AUS 00:55:27
9 Brendan Sexton AUS 00:55:30
10 Irving Perez MEX 00:55:32